Mask Confusion: SC #8 Most “Anti-Mask” State + Where Masks Required

Mask Confusion: SC #8 Most “Anti-Mask” State + Where Masks Required

Scroll on for results of study on our mask preferences and when, exactly, we're required to wear one. Photo: Mix 95.9/Saga Communications


With several counties now requiring masks to be worn in public spaces, SC residents have new guidelines – and opinions – about when and where they’re required to cover their faces. Scroll on for results of study on our mask preferences and when, exactly, we’re required to wear one.

SC Ranked #8 Most Anti-Mask State
According to a recent study measuring geotagged pro- and anti-mask tweets and hashtag usage on Twitter, South Carolina has made the nation’s list of top 10 most “anti-mask” states. Ranking SC #8, the study found the northeast to be the most “pro-mask” region in the U.S. (Source: ABCNews4.com) Full list of top 10 states with the most anti-mask activity:

  1. Arizona
  2. Nevada
  3. Florida
  4. Idaho
  5. Maine
  6. Missouri
  7. Wyoming
  8. South Carolina
  9. Ohio
  10. Montana

When/Where Masks are Required in SC
Unsure when and where face masks are required? You’re not alone. Scroll on for a list of places/circumstances under which Lowcountry residents are required to where a mask. (Source: WYFF4.com)

When masks are required:

  • At restaurants and retail stores
  • While interacting with people outdoors (including curbside pickup, deliveries, or service calls)
  • While providing commercial or public transportation
  • While walking in public if social distancing isn’t possible
  • When participating in allowable gatherings

Exceptions are made for:

  • If a mask can’t be worn safely due to age and or children under 10 years old
  • If someone has underlying health conditions or needs others to remove a mask for them
  • Traveling in personal vehicles
  • When exclusively with other household members
  • While doing outdoor physical activities if social distancing
  • While eating, drinking, or smoking
  • If masks conflict with religious beliefs
  • In individual offices
  • If wearing a mask isn’t possible. For example, while at the dentist or swimming.
  • For first responders when wearing a mask isn’t practical

How the rule is being enforced: Those not wearing a mask where required will get a warning at first, and then be issued a $50 fine if a they don’t comply.

Expiration on the resolution: 60 days from July 1.

Click here for more details on the resolution.

Details on other Lowcountry counties requiring masks at this time:

Recent Headlines

15 hours ago in Entertainment, Music

Everything you need to know about the 2026 Latin Grammy Awards. Here’s how to watch

The 2026 Latin Grammy Awards are right around the corner. Are you ready? If not, no problema. Here's everything you need to know about watching the 2026 Latin Grammys, including how to stream the show and where you can see music's biggest stars walking the red carpet.

15 hours ago in Entertainment

Russell Brand has been convicted of rape and sexual assault

Russell Brand was convicted Thursday of rape and sexual assault charges on allegations dating back more than 20 years. Judge Joel Bennathan said Brand faces a "significant" prison term when he is sentenced Monday. He had been free on bail but was taken into custody.

15 hours ago in Entertainment

Bingo, Care Bears, Pokémon cards and the classic playground slide make it into the Toy Hall of Fame

Bingo, Care Bears, the Pokémon Trading Card Game and the humble playground slide have all made it into the National Toy Hall of Fame, taking their place alongside classics like Mr. Potato Head and G.I. Joe.